» » The Magnetic Fields - Get Lost

The Magnetic Fields - Get Lost download album

  • Performer: The Magnetic Fields
  • Title: Get Lost
  • Genre: Electronic / Pop
  • Country: US
  • Released: 2004
  • Style: Synth-pop
  • MP3 album: 1235 mb
  • FLAC album: 1689 mb
  • Rating: 4.6/5
  • Votes: 310
The Magnetic Fields - Get Lost download album

Get Lost is the fifth studio album by American indie pop band The Magnetic Fields, released on October 24, 1995. The Divine Comedy have recorded covers of two Magnetic Fields songs, both from this album. Love Is Lighter Than Air" appears as the B-side of their 1996 single "Something for the Weekend", while their version of "With Whom to Dance" appears as the B-side of their 1999 single "The Pop Singer's Fear of the Pollen Count'".

referencing Get Lost, LP, Album, RE, RM, MRG091LP, MRG091. Merge is doing a fantastic job with these vinyl reissues of Magnetic Fields' back catalog. Reply Notify me Helpful.

Released October 24, 1995. 2. The Desperate Things You Made Me Do Lyrics. 3. Smoke and Mirrors Lyrics. Ask us a question about this album. Top Get Lost scholars. Producers Stephin Merritt. More The Magnetic Fields albums. Love at the Bottom of the Sea. 2012. Show all albums by The Magnetic Fields.

Get Lost by The Magnetic Fields, released 19 September 1995 1. Famous 2. The Desperate Things You Make Me Do 3. Smoke and Mirrors 4. With Whom to Dance? 5. You and Me and the Moon 6. Don't Look Away 7. Save a Secret for the Moon 8. Why I Cry 9. Love Is Lighter Than Air 10. When You're Old and Lonely 11. The Village in the Morning 12. All the Umbrellas in London 13. The Dreaming Moon.

Get Lost is the fifth studio album by American indie pop band The Magnetic Fields, released on October 24, 1995. Tracey Thorn has recorded covers of several Magnetic Fields songs

Band Name The Magnetic Fields. Other productions from The Magnetic Fields. Realism.

What is unfortunate about Get Lost is that despite the excellence of perhaps half its tracks, some of the songs are rather unmemorable. Overall the album is much darker than its precursor, both in its malicious lyrics and overbearingly depressive subject matter. Why I Cry’ epitomizes Merritt’s extraordinarily blunt wit, the irony of his music and how he can still maintain affection through parody – it is the perfection of his style. Any fan of his work will undoubtedly find something to grasp onto within the record, and like any Magnetic Fields album, will have its layers peeled away indefinitely. All the summer days Where we used to play Walking hand in hand Castles in the sand. So you said goodnight But you meant goodbye Now our love has died This is why I cry.

Stephin Merritt's homespun (although not carelessly lo-fi) approach to electronic pop is a big part of the Magnetic Fields' charm, but he may be starting to stretch it to the limit with Get Lost. The most electro-oriented of their releases to date, it's also perhaps their least engaging, although the brooding ballad "Don't Look Away" is one of their best songs. They may want to start thinking about varying their synthetic percussions and patterns more, as these are starting too sound a little too boxy and similar for comfort.


1 With Whom To Dance? 2:29
2 Smoke And Mirrors 3:09
3 All The Umbrellas In London 3:18
4 Why I Cry 3:38
5 Save A Secret For The Moon 3:02
6 Don't Look Away 2:17
7 Love Is Lighter Than Air 3:00
8 The Desperate Things You Made Me Do 3:55
9 You And Me And The Moon 3:00
10 The Village In The Morning 3:40
11 Famous 3:11
12 When You're Old And Lonely 1:57
13 The Dreaming Moon 3:26

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company – Domino Recording Co. Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Stephin Merritt
  • Published By – Gay And Loud
  • Published By – Flying Nun Music
  • Pressed By – Lynic – 59408


  • Bass Guitar – Julie Cooper
  • Cello, Flute – Sam Davol
  • Drums, Voice, Ukulele – Claudia Gonson
  • Guitar, Banjo – John Woo
  • Other [Model] – Gail O'Hara, Ilsa Jule, Leslie Taylor, Lilly Of The Valley, Michael Cavadias, Sam Davol
  • Other [Stylist] – Ashley Salisbury
  • Performer [Made By] – Stephin Merritt
  • Photography By [Booklet Photographress] – Eve Prime
  • Photography By [Tray Card Photographer] – John Woo
  • Recorded By [Recording Assistant] – Kelly McKaig
  • Songwriter [Song By] – Robert Scott (tracks: 10), Stephin Merritt
  • Technician [Technical Advisor], Mixed By [Occasional Mixer] – Eric Masunaga
  • Translated By [Translation] – Andrew Beaujon (tracks: 2)
  • Voice [French Speaker] – Natalie Lithwick (tracks: 2)


All songs © 1995 Stephin Merritt published by Gay And Loud (ASCAP) except "The Village In The Morning" © 1995 Stephin Merritt/Robert Scott published by Gay And Loud (ASCAP)/Flying Nun Music.

8-page foldout booklet with lyrics and credits.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 034202 001720
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Label Code: LC10192
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 & 2): [Lynic logo] REWIGCD17 SP 59408 01
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1 & 2): IFPI LU81
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI KA03
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI KA06

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
MRG091CD The Magnetic Fields Get Lost ‎(CD, Album) Merge Records MRG091CD US 1995
7243 8415012 9 The Magnetic Fields Get Lost ‎(CD, Album) Labels 7243 8415012 9 Europe 1996
SETCD 23 The Magnetic Fields Get Lost ‎(CD, Album) Setanta SETCD 23 UK 1996
SETCD 023L The Magnetic Fields Get Lost ‎(CD, Album + CD, Comp) Setanta SETCD 023L UK 1996
MRG091LP, MRG091 The Magnetic Fields Get Lost ‎(LP, Album, RE, RM) Merge Records, Merge Records MRG091LP, MRG091 US 2008

Related music albums: