» » L7 - Smell The Magic

L7 - Smell The Magic download album

  • Performer: L7
  • Title: Smell The Magic
  • Genre: Rock
  • Country: US
  • Released: 1990
  • Style: Grunge
  • MP3 album: 1952 mb
  • FLAC album: 1136 mb
  • Rating: 4.1/5
  • Votes: 290
L7 - Smell The Magic download album

Smell the Magic is the second studio album by American rock band L7, released on September 1, 1990 by Sub Pop. Originally issued as a 12" EP containing only the first six songs, it was reissued on CD in July 1991, expanded to album length with three more tracks: "Packin' a Rod", "Just Like Me", and "American Society". The opening track "Shove" was released as the band's first single. L7. Donita Sparks - guitar, vocals, lead vocals on tracks 2,4,5,7,9.

On 1991's Smell the Magic, L7 begins to find the sense of melody to complement its distorted punk guitar assault. The band deserves ultimate praise for writing from a completely female perspective at all times, and the fabulous "Fast and Frightening" just might be the ultimate "riot grrrl" anthem.

Smell the Magic is a very straight to the point album, it's very influenced by old school hardcore with a dash of grunge, that makes this record, a treat for your dinner plate. The writing on this record is filled with forcefulness and hatred, the aggresrive style and the so called the bad bitch attitude, breaks out all the essentials into your mind and out to world with no judgement and lots of spirt of emotion, that makes L7, such a great band. Fast and Frightening Deathwish Till The Wheels Fall Off Shove American Society.

This album has an average beat per minute of 140 BPM (slowest/fastest tempos: 100/190 BPM). See its BPM profile at the bottom of the page. Tracklist Smell the Magic. BPM Profile Smell the Magic. Album starts at 100BPM, ends at 108BPM (+8), with tempos within the -BPM range. Try refreshing the page if dots are missing). Recent albums by L7. Slap-Happy. The Beauty Process: Triple Platinum.

Album Name Smell The Magic. Wydawcy Sub Pop Records. Zarejestrowanych posiada ten album12. 2. Fast and frightening. 5. Till the wheels fall off.

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Shove
Recorded By – Jack Endino
A2 Fast And Frightening
Recorded By – Michael James
A3 (Right On) Thru
Recorded By – Michael James
B1 Deathwish
Recorded By – Jack Endino
B2 'Til The Wheels Fall Off
Recorded By – Michael James
B3 Broomstick
Recorded By – Jack Endino

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Radio Tokyo
  • Recorded At – Reciprocal Recording


  • Bass, Vocals – Jennifer Finch
  • Design – Jane Higgins
  • Design [Logo] – Randal Martin*
  • Drums – Dee Plakas*
  • Guitar, Vocals – Donita Sparks, Suzi Gardner
  • Photography By [Back Photos] – Charles Peterson
  • Photography By [Front Photo] – Howard Rosenberg
  • Producer, Written-By – L7


Single picture cover

A2, A3, B2 recorded at Radio Tokyo, Venice, CA.
A1, B1, B3 Recorded at Reciprocal Recording, Seattle, WA.

Special thanks to David Naz, Mr. Finch, and our brothers Danny, David, Dean, James, and E-ROCK

© 1990 SUB-POP

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
SP79 L7 Smell The Magic ‎(12", EP, Pur) Sub Pop SP79 US 1990
SRCS 5922 L7 Smell The Magic ‎(CD, Album) Sony Records SRCS 5922 Japan 1992
SP 2/110 L7 Smell The Magic ‎(12", MiniAlbum, TP) Sub Pop SP 2/110 Germany 1990
SPCD 2/110 L7 Smell The Magic ‎(CD, Album) Sub Pop SPCD 2/110 Germany 1991
SPCD 2/110 L7 Smell The Magic ‎(CD, Album, RE) Sub Pop SPCD 2/110 Germany Unknown

Related music albums: