» » The Birthday Party - Mutiny / The Bad Seed EP

The Birthday Party - Mutiny / The Bad Seed EP download album

  • Performer: The Birthday Party
  • Title: Mutiny / The Bad Seed EP
  • Genre: Rock
  • Country: UK
  • Formats: WAV AAC VOX AA MP4 AUD AA
  • Released: 2004
  • Style: Alternative Rock, Art Rock, Goth Rock
  • MP3 album: 1885 mb
  • FLAC album: 1232 mb
  • Rating: 4.3/5
  • Votes: 566
The Birthday Party - Mutiny / The Bad Seed EP download album

Mutiny/The Bad Seed is a compilation album by The Birthday Party. It is compiled from 2 EPs recorded in October 1982 and released in 1983, The Bad Seed and Mutiny!, and was released in 1989. It is written by Nick Cave, Mick Harvey, Rowland S. Howard, and Tracy Pew. These are the band's final studio recordings, and the only studio recordings made after the departure of drummer Phill Calvert

Features Song Lyrics for The Birthday Party's Mutiny, The Bad Seed EP album. Pleasure Avalanche Lyrics. 7. Mutiny in Heaven Lyrics. The Birthday Party Lyrics provided by SongLyrics.

Mutiny/The Bad Seed compiles the last recordings of menacing Australian post-punks The Birthday Party. There’s not a lot of rationality in choosing to write about this collection, really. It’s not like I’ve been listening to it a lot lately. But I put it on today after sifting through some CDs and it felt like something that would be fun to write about. So here we are. Most people likely recognize The Birthday Party as singer/song writer Nick Cave’s early 80's vehicle. And that’s fairly accurate. There’s certainly more that could be said. Sonny’s Burning (also listed as Sunny’s Burning in the liner notes) is the opener. Cave asks right off the bat, Hands up!

Complete your The Birthday Party collection.

This album has an average beat per minute of 140 BPM (slowest/fastest tempos: 126/156 BPM). See its BPM profile at the bottom of the page. BPM Profile Mutiny, The Bad Seed EP. Album starts at 130BPM, ends at 126BPM (-4), with tempos within the -BPM range. Try refreshing the page if dots are missing). Recent albums by The Birthday Party. Drunk on the Pope's Blood.

Mutiny, The Bad Seed . 1. Sonny's Burning Lyrics. Writers Mick Harvey, Nick Cave, Rowland S. Howard & 1 more. More The Birthday Party albums. The John Peel Sessions. Show all albums by The Birthday Party.

The Birthday Party Junkyard. The Birthday Party The John Peel Sessions. The Birthday Party Hits. The Birthday Party Prayers on Fire. The Birthday Party Mutiny.

Mutiny/Bad Seed 1989. Best And Rarest (Vinyl) 1985.

Collecting the two EPs onto one disc, this release also includes two rough mixes from the Mutiny sessions as a bonus. The Six Strings That Drew Blood," also later recorded by Cave's Bad Seeds, is a quick brawler like many a past Party classic, Cave hitting a strangled falsetto at points as the group rips along. Pleasure Avalanche" works on the slow grind trip; Cave husks his vocals over a nicely creepy arrangement from the rest, calling for the titular situation in question with increasing desperation.

Tracklist Hide Credits

The Bad Seed E.P.
1 Sonny's Burning 3:20
2 Wildworld 3:27
3 Fears Of Gun 3:54
4 Deep In The Woods 4:50
The "Mutiny" Sessions
5 Jennifers Veil 4:58
6 Six Strings That Drew Blood 3:32
7 Say A Spell 3:41
8 Swampland 3:31
9 Pleasure Avalanche 4:23
10 Mutiny In Heaven
Guitar – Blixa Bargeld

Companies, etc.

  • Pressed By – Sonopress Arvato, USA – E184202
  • Pressed By – Sonopress Arvato, USA – HD87503
  • Recorded At – Hansa Tonstudios
  • Recorded At – Britannia Row Studios
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – 2.13.61 Records
  • Copyright (c) – 2.13.61 Records
  • Manufactured By – BMG Distribution
  • Distributed By – BMG Distribution
  • Licensed From – Mute Records


  • Bass – Tracy Pew
  • Cover [Mutiny & Bad Seed Covers Executed By] – Nick Cave
  • Cover [Mutiny Cover Design] – A. Lane*
  • Drums, Guitar – Mick Harvey
  • Guitar – Rowland S. Howard
  • Photography By – Bleddyn Butcher
  • Vocals – Nick Cave
  • Written-By – Harvey* (tracks: 1 to 5, 8, 10), Cave* (tracks: 1 to 6, 8 to 10), Howard* (tracks: 1, 6 to 8), Pew* (tracks: 1, 8)


This version is pressed by Sonopress Arvato

All tracks recorded at Hans Studios, Berlin, October 1982 & April 1983.
Tracks 5, 7, 8 & 10 were then re-worked at Britannia Row London, August 1982.
Tracks 6 & 9 which were not on the vinyl releases are Rough mixes and will forever remain so as the 'Mutiny' multi-tracks have been lost.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 44659 96932 4
  • Matrix / Runout: 74465996932 [Sonopress arvato logo] + + HD87503
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant): 74465996932 [Sonopress arvato logo] + + E184202
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant): IFPI LB41
  • Mould SID Code (Variant): IFPI 100A

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CAD 301 CD The Birthday Party Mutiny / The Bad Seed E.P. ‎(CD, Comp) 4AD CAD 301 CD UK 1989
CAD 301 CD The Birthday Party Mutiny / The Bad Seed ‎(CD, Comp, RP) 4AD CAD 301 CD UK Unknown
thi 21320.2 The Birthday Party Mutiny / The Bad Seed EP ‎(CD, Comp, RM) 2.13.61 Records, Thirsty Ear thi 21320.2 US 1997
DPRLP28 The Birthday Party The Bad Seed / Mutiny! ‎(12", EP, RE, 180 + 12", EP, RE, 180 + 7", Gol + Co) Drastic Plastic Records DPRLP28 US 2013
CAKE 4 The Birthday Party Mutiny / The Bad Seed ‎(CD, Comp, RE) Shock CAKE 4 Australia Unknown

Related music albums: