» » Xiu Xiu - A Promise

Xiu Xiu - A Promise download album

  • Performer: Xiu Xiu
  • Title: A Promise
  • Genre: Electronic / Rock / Pop
  • Country: US
  • Released: 2018
  • Style: Noise, Experimental
  • MP3 album: 1938 mb
  • FLAC album: 1690 mb
  • Rating: 4.1/5
  • Votes: 657
Xiu Xiu - A Promise download album

A Promise is the second studio album by American experimental band Xiu Xiu, released on February 18, 2003. The track "Sad Pony Guerrilla Girl" is a reworking of a song by Stewart's previous band Ten In The Swear Jar (XITSJ), called just "Sad Girl", which first appeared on their 1999 album My Very Private Map. "Pink City" also has its roots in a two-part song from XITSJ's unreleased album Eat Death Orphans!, which was eventually published in 2003's Accordion Solo!

Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Purchasable with gift card. Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album. Includes unlimited streaming of A Promise via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. ships out within 30 days.

The cover off Xiu Xiu’s 2003 album A Promise features a Vietnamese sex worker, who Jamie paid to take photos holding a baby doll in his hand, while visiting Hanoi. The original cover art featured an orange box covering the man’s genitalia. The vinyl issue for A Promise featured the uncensored photo on the cover. The 2018 rerelease featured a new cover, with only the baby doll.

Xiu Xiu. A Promise ‎(LP, Album, RP). Absolutely Kosher Records. Xiu Xiu. A Promise ‎(Cass, Album, Ltd, RE). Stoned To Death. ever album covers list?! by . Kruliq. Musique et sexe: les pochettes (Tsugi Hors-Série n°11) by TwinPowerForce.

Xiu Xiu's sound is a(n) (un)godly amalgamation of cling-clang percussion, buzzsaw synth work, dance-y rhythms that sound like hell, melodies that are either greatly overstated or understated, and Jamie Stewart's vocals that will make you rethink what "emotional" singing might be. Opener "Sad Pony Guerrilla Girl" is deceptive in many ways though, drawing us in with a pleasant guitar melody, before being joined by some fluttering synth work and Jamie's vocals. As I listen more and more though, this piece of work continues to reveal things to me.

A Promise is Xiu Xiu's second LP, and was released 18 Feb. 2003 on 5 Rue Christine. It continued the experimental harshness, unsettling weirdness, and viscerally powerful sound that created a(n) famous/infamous reputation for Jamie Stewart, the band's central member and singer, that had followed him from his debut, Knife Play. This record is a more polished effort than the debut was. Production levels are higher, more instruments are used, and the sound is just more clean overall. A Promise is Xiu Xiu's second LP, and was released 18 Feb.

Artists Xiu Xiu A Promise. A Promise Xiu Xiu. A Promise. This album has an average beat per minute of 125 BPM (slowest/fastest tempos: 80/184 BPM). See its BPM profile at the bottom of the page. 1. Sad Pony Guerrilla Girl.

Features Song Lyrics for Xiu Xiu's A Promise album. Xiu Xiu - A Promise Album Lyrics. 20,000 Deaths for Eidelyn Gonzales, 20,000 Deaths for Jamie Peterson Lyrics.

Band Name Xiu Xiu. Album Name A Promise.

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Sad Pony Guerrilla Girl 3:18
A2 Apistat Commander 4:35
A3 Walnut House 4:41
A4 20,000 Deaths For Eidelyn Gonzales, 20,000 Deaths For Jamie Peterson 3:16
A5 Pink City 2:13
B1 Sad Redux-O-Grapher 3:19
B2 Blacks 3:14
B3 Brooklyn Dodgers 3:51
B4 Fast Car
Written By – Tracy Chapman
B5 Ian Curtis Wishlist 4:33
C Sad Girl 3:23
D Sad Cory-O-Grapher 4:05

Companies, etc.

  • Published By – Will It Burn Music
  • Copyright (c) – Xiu Xiu


  • Design, Layout – Ryan McCardle
  • Mastered By – John Golden
  • Music By – Aaron Russell (tracks: A1, A2), Ches Smith (tracks: A3, A4, B1), Cory McCulloch (tracks: A2, B3), Jherek Bischoff (tracks: B4), Korum Bischoff (tracks: B4), Lauren Andrews (tracks: A2-A4, B2, B3), Sam Mickens (tracks: B4), Sara Chaney (tracks: B3), Tally Jones (tracks: A2, B1, B5), Wei Hwu (tracks: A3), Yvonne Chen (tracks: A2, A3, B3)
  • Music By, Photography By – Jamie Stewart


First time A PROMISE has been available on vinyl since 2004.
Colored wax and a bonus 7"
Comes with DL code featuring bonus tracks and most importantly, Jamie's drunk commentary.

"Fleshy colored" description comes from a comment on facebook from the label inquiring about the color.

7" contains no labels, but the run-out makes it apparent which side it is.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Etched): GRAVE 135 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped): Lucky
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched): GRAVE 135 B
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped): Lucky
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched): GRAVE 135 C
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped): Lucky
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched): GRAVE 135 D Lucky

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
GER024 Xiu Xiu A Promise ‎(CD) 5 Rue Christine GER024 US 2003
GRAVE135 Xiu Xiu A Promise ‎(LP, Album, Club, Num, Han + 7", Fle + Ltd, RE) Graveface Records GRAVE135 US 2018
JYRK11 Xiu Xiu A Promise ‎(LP, Album, Ltd) Collective Jyrk JYRK11 US 2004
JYRK11 Xiu Xiu A Promise ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, RP) Collective Jyrk JYRK11 US 2004
AK058 Xiu Xiu A Promise ‎(LP, Album, RP) Absolutely Kosher Records AK058 US 2004

Related music albums: